Happy Gudi Padva!! A new post has to go up today because it is a Maharashtrian  new year. 😀 I woke up to the scenes where ladies dressed beautifully in saree riding bikes with pride. People dancing crazily on the sound of dhol – a strong evidence that nobody can beat Thanekars when it comes to celebration. Everybody was excited and full of zest to celebrate Gudi padva. I could see Gudi’s shining brightly in all windows. The environment around made me feel so positive and blessed that I am a part of this wonderful culture. IMG_8370

 I have seen a lot of people debating on the topic that western culture is taking over Indian culture. People around tend to be more inclined towards wearing western clothes these days but that does not mean Indian culture has lost its importance. I personally love wearing jeans, shorts and all western attires but that does not make me hate my culture. Nobody can refrain me from loving maharashtrian food, festivals, and attire.

IMG_8368

 On special occasion on Gudi Padva. I chose to wear an outfit which would reflect my acceptance of different cultures. This is the age of fashion, everything that is glittery, quirky and fanciful attracts people’s mind and who doesn’t love attention. 😉

IMG_8378

For today’s post, I decide to go Indian with a modern touch to it. I am wearing a pant saree for this outfit which defines the disparity between both the cultures. I selected this Queen of silks- Paithani saree which is a symbol of maharashtrian culture. ❤ The fine interlacing of silk and gold with its rich border made of motifs of peacock perfectly compliments the colour. Instead of draping it the same old way, I thought of going chiller than usual by giving it a modish touch.

IMG_8369The pant-saree trend is already talk of the town since it was flaunted on the runway. I wore this beautiful saree with a fusion of western pant and a crop top. I took one side of the saree and pleated it. Securing the pleats with pins I tucked it in the center of the pant. Draped the other side of the saree around my body and placed the end on my shoulder to give a typical saree effect. Instead of wearing a blouse I opted for a crop top which all together gives a chic look.

IMG_8377

Accessories are must with a traditional outfit, so I wore pretty little jhumka and nathani in my nose- a signature style of maharashtrian culture.

It took me only a few minutes to style this entire outfit as draping is quite easy. Enchanting and modish, this pant-saree is just a must try for all the style lovers. 😛

Let me know if you like this look. 🙂

Love

Komal ❤

 

Outfit Details:

Pant, crop top, and heels- Forever21

Photography-Kiran Marathe

 

 

